Message from the General Chairs

It is our privilege and great pleasure to welcome all of you to the 52nd Annual IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO-52) in Columbus, Ohio. MICRO is the premier forum for presenting, discussing, and debating innovative microarchitecture ideas and techniques for advanced computing and communication systems. This symposium brings together researchers in fields related to microarchitecture, compilers, chips, and systems for technical exchange on traditional microarchitecture topics and emerging research areas.

MICRO-52 would not have been possible without the passionate participation and support of many people, organizations and companies. First and foremost, we would like to thank the attendees as well as the students and researchers that submitted their papers to the conference. Your hard work is reflected by a high-quality program.

We are also very grateful for the support and guidance we received from our sponsors. Many of them have been regular supporters, have a stake in this community and their continued engagement and guidance helps make the conference better every year. The fundraising committee chairs Alaa Alameldeen and Jagadish Kotra, together with the industry liaison Nandhini Chandramoorthy helped strengthen and expand these relationships.

We would like to thank and recognize the contributions of the steering and organizing committees. The steering committee chair, Scott Mahlke has been a strong supporter and adviser to the conference. The program co-chairs, Tor Aamodt and Reetuparna Das, together with the submission chairs Daichi Fujiki, Deval Shah and Omer Anjum accomplished the monumental task of selecting a record number of high-quality papers that will appear in this year's program. Abdullah Muzahid, helped coordinate the publication process and create the proceedings. Samira Khan, selected and helped manage a number of exciting workshops and tutorials. Joshua San Miguel organized the Student Research Competition that will open the door to MICRO participation to even more exceptional students. The travel awards chair, Anys Bacha, applied for and managed the funds that will financially support the attendance of more than 50 students to MICRO-52. The finance chair, Carrie Stein, expertly managed the conference budget, vendor contracts, child care and countless other conference-related tasks. Ulya Karpuzcu managed registrations, Xiaoyao Liang and Adwait Jog helped publicize the conference, and Akshitha Sriraman kept all of us informed and connected through the @MicroArchConf Twitter account. The web chair, Saugata Ghose, redesigned the MICRO website to make it more modern and responsive. The local arrangements co-chairs Chris Stewart and Spyros Blanas helped organize the official and un-official social events including the banquet at the COSI Center of Science and Industry, and the bonus excursion to the National Museum of the US Air Force. We would also like to thank ACM, especially John Otero who helped with venue selection and negotiations, April Mosqus for handling contracting and finances, and Adrienne Griscti for taking care of publications. Finally, we would like to thank the many student volunteers that helped attendees during the conference.

We would like to extend a special tank you to Natalie Enright Jerger for her advice on our efforts to ensure a diverse representation in the organizing, program and awards committees, keynote speakers and workshop and tutorials invited presenters. MICRO will continue to strive to be open, inclusive and welcoming to all.

We look forward to welcoming everyone to Columbus!

Radu Teodorescu and DK Panda General Co-Chairs, MICRO-52