Welcome to ExaComm 2017

Extreme Scale computing in HPC, Big Data, Deep Learning and Clouds are marked by multiple-levels of hierarchy and heterogeneity ranging from the compute units (many-core CPUs, GPUs, APUs etc) to storage devices (NVMe, NVMe over Fabrics etc) to the network interconnects (InfiniBand, High-Speed Ethernet, Omni-Path etc). Owing to the plethora of heterogeneous communication paths with different cost models expected to be present in extreme scale systems, data movement is seen as the soul of different challenges for exascale computing. On the other hand, advances in networking technologies such as NoCs (like NVLink and Stormlake), RDMA enabled networks and the likes are constantly pushing the envelope of research in the field of novel communication and computing architectures for extreme scale computing. The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers and software/hardware designers from academia, industry and national laboratories who are involved in creating network-based computing solutions for extreme scale architectures. The objectives of this workshop will be to share the experiences of the members of this community and to learn the opportunities and challenges in the design trends for exascale communication architectures.

ExaComm 2017 welcomes original submissions in a range of areas, including but not limited to:

Best Paper Award

Mellanox has generously offered to sponsor the Best Paper Award. This award will be given to the author(s) of the paper selected by the Technical Program Committee and the Program Chairs. The award will be determined from viewpoints of the technical and scientific merits, impact on the science and engineering of the research work and the clarity of presentation of the research contents in the paper.

Organizing Committee

Program Chairs

  • Hari Subramoni, The Ohio State University
  • Dhabaleswar K. (DK) Panda, The Ohio State University
  • Program Committee

  • Taisuke Boku, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Hans Eberle, NVIDIA
  • Jesus Escudero-Sahuquillo, University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM), Spain
  • Ada Gavrilovska, Georgia Tech
  • Brice Goglin, INRIA, France
  • Dror Goldenberg, Mellanox Technologies
  • R. Govindarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • Ryan Grant, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China
  • Sven Karlsson, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark
  • Nectarios Koziris, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Takeshi Nanri, University of Kyushu, Japan
  • Dimitrios Nikolopoulos, Queen's University of Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
  • Antonio Pena, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Barcelona, Spain
  • Sebastien Rumley, Columbia University
  • Smruti Ranjan Sarangi, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
  • Martin Schulz, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • John M. Shalf, National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center / Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Tor Skeie, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway
  • Sayantan Sur, Intel
  • Xin Yuan, Florida State University
  • Jidong Zhai, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Registration

    The workshop does not have a separate registration site. All attendees need to use the registration system provided by ISC'17. Please remember to select the workshop option when registering. Details about registration can be found on the main conference website.

    Travel and Stay

    Please check the main conference website.